Team Chevelle banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
2,432 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was fired today for trying to find another job. My termination report reads, "Seeking other employment during clocked business time". First off, I was a commission mechanic making 25 hours a week because of no work. I went to fill out an application today on my lunch hour and on a day that I did not flag one single second. I marked the application" do not contact current employer". so any info they could have gotten would have been given illegally. What do you think?

·
Registered
167 Posts
I think you have a case. Can you prove you were on your lunch break? Can you demonstrate good work performance?

It all depends on the laws of the state you live in. But it bears some looking into.

·
Premium Member
16,878 Posts
The way I understand it, your lunch break is your personal time. How did your emplyer find out? It sounds like they are implying theft of company time on that report. Check out the Department of Labor website....www.dol.gov.

·
Premium Member
7,945 Posts
I would for sure talk to the manager/boss about it, unless you told him to go do you know what. If your on good terms with someone in the higher up, or go as high as you can. If your on your lunchbreak, I think your allowed to do whatever you want as long as its legal.

·
Registered
2,698 Posts
I believe MS is a "Right To Work" state. Were you in the Union?

·
Premium Member
6,840 Posts
I believe MS is a "Right To Work" state. Were you in the Union?
:D :D :D You're cracking me up!! There ain't no mechanic's unions in the Deep South, or hardly anywhere else.
Marty, it's February, consistently the slowest time of the year for auto repair. If you've been in the business for very long you should know that. I don't think you have a case, especially in Mississippi.