Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, this may sound silly, but here goes,

My 72 chevelle has a 350 engine and TH350 trans. From a stop it accelerates very well, and when its floored you can hear the motor gets up to about 5000 or so rpm's before it shifts (No tach). But, if I'm already moving, say 35mph, and I floor it, it is extremely sluggish, and does not downshift to pick up speed like other cars I have driven. I know that most newer cars will downshift into the next lowest gear to accelerate faster if you hit the gas hard while already moving , but I'm new to old cars and I dont know if my chevelle should or not. This transmission was supposedly rebuilt not too long ago (approx. 5000 miles, but how long it took to put that 5000 miles on the car I dont know). It also has a small leak which has not been located yet, but I keep plenty of fluid in it. I've also been thinking of adding about a 2400rpm stall converter to get better acceleration. Any help or explanation would be great.

Thanks,

------------------
Joe Scott

·
Registered
3,752 Posts
Your TH350 sould downshift. It sounds like your downshift (detent) cable is missing or mis-adjusted. It's a simple fix. Although I can't tell you how to do it. Perhaps someone else can provide the details.

------------------
Pat Kelley
66 El Camino, daily driver
67 El Camino, STRIP/street

·
Registered
1 Posts
It should downshift but I think on the TH350 and TH400 it is internally controlled based on RPM and load. On other transmissions such as the TH700R4 it is controlled by a cable attached to the carb or EFI, called a TV (throttle valve) cable. When your transmission was rebuilt it may have been done incorrectly.

------------------
'66 Chevelle Malibu 4dr
in progress!
will have 350/4 sp 370 HP

·
Registered
433 Posts