Team Chevelle banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok everyone. My previous topic raised a bunch of questions. I have been talking to a local transmission shop in the Seattle area about building a 12 bolt for my '68 (soon to have a 509 ci with 540HP and 580 ft-lbs, and TH-400 transmission.) I have goten an "around $2500" estimate.
For this amount of torque, should I be looking at a 9"? My understanding was that 12 bolt could be strong enough to handle this amount of power plus more. What is your feeling on the $2500 estimate fot the 12 bolt?
You input will be greately appreciated once again.
Thank you.

·
Registered
336 Posts
no matter how you look at it, that is a LOT of money for a rear end. if you look in the right places you can find 12 bolts in good/rebuilt shape for $1500 and much less. im not an expert but the way I see it, with the turbo 400 you wont be doing any 6-8000 rpm launches which is when you need a real strong rear end because of the car hooking up. if you could make more power with a ford engine would you use that instead of a chevy?
thats how i look at it, plus the price is going to be jacked up because it has to be custom fit with width and suspension brackets..

also we need to know more info on your stall converter and how you plan to use the car.. if this is a driver, id say no way, go with a 12 bolt.

W

·
0 Posts
$2500 for a 12 bolt, wow! That must be some rear. You can get one from Mark Williams for less money, we are talking street here are we not???

What makes you think you can break one up on the street? If it were a stick car, maybe.

Everything about the 9 inch Ford is more money, the gears, the pinion support, axles, and on and on. The rear requires more hp just to spin it, a lot more than a 12 bolt.

Stick with the 12 bolt and find somebody that's not on drugs to do it.

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
Discussion Starter #4