Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part May's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1970 chevelle malibu and all the lights work properly until i turn on the headlights. When my car is running, my front running lights wont work, and neither will my turn signal. I am not very experienced in car's electrical systems. Please help.

thank you

im 16 and this is my first car.

·
Registered
7,762 Posts
If all the turn signals work ok, with the headlights off, the turn signal power wires are ok. If the front stop working when you pull the headlights on, chances are you have a ground problem on one or both of the lamp sockets. Remove the left front plastic turn signal lamp lens. Turn the turn signal on left (key ON) and pull the head lights on. With a piece of wire touch the turn signal lamp base right where it meets the glass. Touch the other end of the wire to a good ground. See if it starts flashing. If it does the bulb base is not getting a good ground to the frame (dirty socket, bad wire connection to the socket, bad ground wire). If that doesn't work, try it on the front right side.

·
Registered
1,555 Posts