Chevelles.com banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
O.k., I know I'm an amateur when it comes to wiring, but I'm just getting confused with this new harness. The original harness on my '70 Malibu seems to be in two pieces, but the Painless is only one piece... Does the painless harness combine the two pieces into one to save space? And i may just be missing this (i'm not very patient when it comes to electrical work, i hate it) but what about the dummy lights and all that stuff, inside the dash? should i remove the bezel and figure it out like that? Any help with this would sure save my sanity!
-Brian

·
Registered
168 Posts
I think you bought the universal harness from them. The GM musclecar one(forget part no) Is exactly like original just newer style fuse box. It connects exactly where the original would and is two seperate pieces.

·
Registered
318 Posts
Bing! I'm right here - Thanks John!

What style harness did you buy? The 12 / 18 circuit universal? The Painless harnesses are all single pieces with LOTS of extra wire so you can get it going to where you need it to go to.

Let's start with what you bought, and what you're trying to hook up.

By "dummy lights" do you mean "idiot lights" If so - it's a pretty easy fix. Just let us know what you're looking for, and what painless kit you bought, and we should be able to steer you in the right direction.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #6