Team Chevelle banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

Doing some research on an exhaust system for my 66. I want to replace the 2"with a 2 1/2" system. I found that the American Thunder sys. does not exit the car in the correct place behind the rear wheel, but under the rear bumper. Supposedly the Magna Flow does exit the car in the correct spot. I have no experience with either system so any imput will be apperciated. I was kinda headed all along on the Flow Master sys., but if it is not going to exit the car correct, it has put a kink into my thinking.

Tnx. in Advance.
Frank

·
Registered
1,726 Posts
why not just find a good muffler shop and run whatever muffler you choose? With those kits you're also going to have to weld up the seams or pay somebody.The places around my town are a rip off and wanted $450 for dual 2", plus I was providing the mufflers. Called around and found a place that did excellent work and only paid $200. I had to drive to the next town but it was worth it. I plan on taking my other cars to this guy since he did such a nice job and is cheap.

·
Super Moderator
16,192 Posts
From my experience, both Flowmaster and Magnaflow websites have shown tailpipes that exit behind the rear wheels instead of at the rear bumper but neither of them actually make and sell such tailpipes any longer.

I plan to cut my tailpipes off and add a bent piece at the appropriate location to create my own exit-behind-the-rear-wheels tailpipes.

The only down side to having a system bent up and installed at a local shop is that most do not do mandrel bending. The typical pipe bending machine will noticeably close down the diameter of the pipe, especially on tight bends like those required where the tails go over the axle.

·
Registered
1,726 Posts