Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Premium Member
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 70 Malibu car that has original rear end and 3:31 gears, 350 transmission. The original block but motor was built for a supercharger setup. Runs great but high rpm on the highway...what is the better solution to able to cruise better?
Thanks
Bobby

·
Registered
272 Posts
Thanks does it require.. Computer controls and electronics?
nope, the electronic version of the 700r4 is the 4l60e. It isn't super easy, needs a driveshaft cut or special tail housing among other minor modifications. Depending on the power you would need to make sure the 700 has the upgrades people have learned to correct early tranmission damages. People say 700's and 4l60e's are junk. They got a bad rap over the years until people corrected the design flaws... I'm by no means an expert, I want to hear others chime in..

·
Registered
2,358 Posts
350 tranny with 331 gear ??
Idk man. Sounds like a pretty low spinner to me . You gotta be 2300 at 60 mph .
If that's too much then I'd agree with the suggestion on the 700r4.
No computer required.
First gear in that tranny quite a bit more "pep" than the 350 tranny lol

·
Registered
2,358 Posts
700r4 isn't "junk"
Alot of guys don't like em because there is a pretty big ratio drop from 1 to 2 shift so for a race application that might not be optimal.
They can be worked to race with though.
I think for what you're looking for it would be perfect and you can buy them reasonable

·
Registered
272 Posts
700r4 isn't "junk"
Alot of guys don't like em because there is a pretty big ratio drop from 1 to 2 shift so for a race application that might not be optimal.
They can be worked to race with though.
I think for what you're looking for it would be perfect and you can buy them reasonable
Racers tend to use the 2.84 gear for the drop correction.

·
Registered
2,358 Posts