Team Chevelle banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm completely new at this... so pardon if this a real obvious "NO!" to everyone here...

i assume since the stock clock is electronically wound... that it has electricity going to it... so does anyone make a digital clock that can fit in where the electro-mechanical one is now? and use the same power source? what about a separate power source? like off something else going to the dash?

also... (also a major chevelle newbie question) should all my gauges have lights at night? what about the automatic console? should that light up too? what about the radio? right now i get speedo... and heater/vent controls lighting up and that is it. if the others should be... how hard are the bulbs to get to? or is it most likely just a fuse?

thanks!

·
Premium Member
3,400 Posts
Don't know of any digital clocks that fit in place of the OEM clock. You could have your original clock converted to quartz movement; usually costs about $70. Gives digital reliability with stock appearance.

If you have some dash lights, then it's not a fuse problem. Yes, all your gages should light up, and so should the shift indicator plate on the console (2 bulbs). If you're going to pull your dash bezel to get at the clock, replace ALL the bulbs at that time, cause it can be a real PITA otherwise. The 69's have very flimsy cheapo bulb sockets that fall apart if you look at them the wrong way.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
it looks like the dakota digital version is a clock that you have to buy *with* the full gauge pack... and although i would eventually like a full digital gauge set... i don't really like theirs. i like the Nord**** (i forget how it is spelled) ones that Summit carries. but they don't have the full pre-made sets that will fit a 69 Chevelle.

i might go for the quartz rebuild actually if i can't find anything stand-alone.