Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part May's Ride of the Month Challenge!

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! I am rather new to the Chevelle world. I am into a full blown restoration project on a '72 that needs a lot of work. I have hopefully a simple question, in fact I am a little embarrassed to even ask, but the attaching mechanism for the dash is a bit of a mystery. I have removed all of the obvious screws, bolts etc. but the dash seems as firmly fastened as ever. What am I missing? Is there some little trick or hidden fasteners that I am overlooking? Thanks for input/enlightenment in advance.

------------------
TKG2000

·
wagons rule!
3,249 Posts
you have removed the dash pad right?
I think there is only 6 screw holding the entire dash on. oh did you drop the steering column?

------------------
1970 Chevelle 454 Wagons haul A$$ in style! "The Chopped Suburban". to see some goto
www.EINSTYN.com FO_FDYFO = four-fifty four! TC#1460, VCEA#2

·
Registered
226 Posts
What a coincidence! I just did this on my '70 yesterday, so it's fresh in my mind. Use the search to get more info. I believe there are 6 bolts holding it in after you get the dash pad off (1 is above the steering column). The hardest part was disconnecting all of the wiring connectors. I have a malibu idiot light dash, and couldn't figure out how to get them out. Turns out they just snap in. I used a screw driver to pry the tabs and it came out.

------------------
Randy Johnson
70 Chevelle
[email protected]
1.766 60 ft.

·
Registered
170 Posts
TKG-

Since you've started your full blown restoration, I suggest you might want to invest a little into a service manual and a body manual. It will save you lots of time and aggravation by providing drawings. Well worth the money. There are lots of them available on E-bay. Just type in +1972 +Chevelle. Just my 2 cents worth.

Good luck,
Bill