Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks, I'm new to the forums, but I've gotten a ton of great info from this site. I've got a '72 Barth motor home with a 402 big block. I've rebuilt the original Quadrajet and it runs great. I'm concerned about the valve seats, because this was built in the old leaded fuel days. So I'm thinking of replacing the cylinder heads. I just picked up a set of cylinder heads from an '86-'90 pickup truck.

They were in good running condition when removed, and I need some advice as to what I should do to get them ready to go. I'm thinking clean them up, install some viton valve seals, and run them with some fel-pro head gaskets.

What would you guys do?

·
Premium Member
131 Posts
Have shop install hardened seats and good to go

·
Premium Member
2,174 Posts
I am not an expert on what heads came on motor homes in the early 70's or what heads came on truck engines in the 1990's. That said, I recommend that you check the casting numbers on both the heads that are on your motor home's 402 and the heads you are replacing them with. The numbers would be found under the valve cover, cast into the surface of the head. They would usually be 7 digits, and larger than date codes.

The reason you would do this is to compare combustion chamber size, intake port size and other features that could drastically change the performance of your engine if you replaced say "oval port" heads with "peanut port" heads.

Is your engine running good now...good compression, no oil in the water or water in the oil...no missing or excessive valve clatter? If the engine is running well, my recommendation is to leave it alone. If it has some of these symptoms, pull the heads and rebuild them, rather than replace them.

Good luck.

·
Registered
5,422 Posts
I have never had a valve recess on old leaded heads. NEVER!