Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part May's Ride of the Month Challenge!

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,090 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone tried Cryogenic Tempering on any of thier parts. I found a local shop that does it and I am going to look into having my rotors and some other parts done.

I just want to see if anyone has good or bad experiences.

Thanks

R.J.

·
Gold Founding Member
10,971 Posts
Heck, there's companies claiming that a Compact Disc that's been supercooled will sound better!

Mind you, I've got no direct experience!

·
Registered
170 Posts
R.J.,

It is my understanding the Cryogenic Tempering is just another form of being Quenched. That is, they heat up the part, then cool it rapidly. This produces a very hard and wear resistant part. However, it parts will tend to be brittle. I wouldn't be surprised to see heat cracks on the surface of a rotor with this treatment if it's going to be on a street driven car.

If it were my car and money, I would stay away from it. Save the money you would have spent on new rotors and the tempering and by a set of high quality aftermarket rotors. That's just my 2 cents worth.

Hope it helps.
Bill

------------------
The price of freedom is eternal vigilance.

G

·
I found this on the internet and sent the company a question about brake rotors. This process is real popular in the fire arms business.

"Researchers have found that the effects of shallow cryogenic tempering (-110°F) is minimal unless it is performed as part of the initial heat treat cycle. Heat treating is what gives steel its hardness as well as its toughness, wear resistance and ductility. Even performed properly, heat treating cannot remove all of the retained austenite (large, unstable particles of carbon carbide) from a steel. Proper heat treating is a key part in increasing a parts toughness, durability, wear resistance, strength and Rockwell hardness.