Team Chevelle banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
368 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I stopped at a local auto upholstery shop today to ask about the cost of installing pre-made seat covers for my '66. I was a little shocked with the response of $500 to just install the covers (2 buckets and the rear seat). Any work on the seat foam or extra padding would be more. Is this quote out of line?

·
Premium Member
27,555 Posts
My interior guy charges $100 per piece except for a front split back bench which he does for $125.
That's with me supplying the covers, of course.

·
Premium Member
1,604 Posts
I had my front bench seat and rear seat (PUI) covered for $220--and they added some cotton batting to the bench seat.
Mine was $375 for the same work.

Don

'70 Fanatic

·
Registered
2,680 Posts
Wow... I worked at a mattress factory as a builder/sewer for 5 years. I have lots of experience with a hog ring gun and such. If you order the foam and covers and your springs are in good shape, it isn't that hard to put the covers on yourself.

·
Registered
99 Posts
I bought my seat covers and foam from OPGI and had a local Amish upholstery shop cover them. They have done some classic car seats, boat seats and buggy seats. I only had them do the front buckets, because I tried and it was a B*#[email protected] Anyway they only charged me $129 for the pair. They looked great. The back seat I did myself and it was easy. Unless you have alot of patience I wouldn't recommend trying the buckets. See page 3 of my cardomain site for interior shots.

·
Premium Member
4,988 Posts
Wow... I worked at a mattress factory as a builder/sewer for 5 years. I have lots of experience with a hog ring gun and such. If you order the foam and covers and your springs are in good shape, it isn't that hard to put the covers on yourself.