Chevelles.com banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got bubbling coolant steaming from my carb and coolant dripping from my exhaust. It's an edelbrock 750cfm sitting on a performer RPM intake on a 350. I hope that just the intake is cracked or a gasket burned. No milky dipstick. Hard to start and it smokes like a train that's on fire (white smoke which looks alot like water vapor) Recently it overheated because of a bad water pump & inoperative dashboard indicator lights... Any suggestions before I tear it apart? (I'm a newbie to this if you haven't guessed yet!) Thanks in advance for the help guys.

·
Registered
1,048 Posts
Any time you see coolant running out the tail pipe, your in trouble. I wouldn't run it any longer until you find out the problem or you could hydraulic a rod if it fills up with water. Hopefully it's just a head gasket, but you could have cracked a head. At any rate you'll have to pull the heads to assess the carnage. Good luck.

·
Registered
167 Posts
I'll second that. Definitely don't run it anymore until the problem is found. If you did crack or warp a head, it's bad enough, don't wreck anything else.

------------------
Steve

72 Chevelle SS402/4sp

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok... One more question. If it is the heads what is involved with replacing them? Is it just a bolt on job where I can buy some that are for my engine's displacement or do I have to get a matching crankshaft too? Are aluminum heads all what they are cracked up to be performance wise?

P.S.They were leaking oil also and were in desperate need of adjustment and repair anyways so I'm not too broken hearted
It just gives me a reason to do it now...

·
Registered
4,962 Posts