Team Chevelle banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 71 Chevelle with a 350 engine. Right now it has a 600 Holley (vac. sec.) which is shot. I want to replace the carburetor, but I just don't know what carb to use.I'm just a simple weekend mechanic, so suggestions are much needed, as to what carburetor to use . The engine has a Torker ll intake,a mild cam(fireball?).Thanks for the HELP! Tom

·
Premium Member
1,626 Posts
I have a Holley 600 vac. sec. on a 327 in my 64 with an Edelbrock Performer RPM. It works great I got em' from summit with that intake package for 200 bucks.(You know the one with all the parts plus an open element summit air cleaner)that is if you have a summit catalog
You might also want to look at the Edelbrock performer carbs or the Carter AFB's. Get a summit catalog if you don't already have one at www.summitracing.com
Good Luck, Steve

·
Registered
151 Posts
If your running a spread-bore manifold, I would suggest Edelbrocks Q-Jet. They are costly, I just paid under $400 for one from Summit. I have a 396 on my 69 El Camino and it has lots of get-up and went, and that's with a 273 rear end.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Tom;
It doesn't mater what they say -size does matter. With a 350 and a mild cam you don't want a large carb. A large carb may make more HP at high RPM but your mild cam will already be done. A large carb won't give you a smooth power flow on the street at slow speed. Stay with a 600 or 650 cfm vac. secondary carb.
Gary R

·
Premium Member
9,796 Posts
I have recently installed a Carter AFB in place of an old Holley on a 327 in a '72 Chevelle and found it to be a good installation. The cost is under $200 and the car runs well. The tuning manual that comes with it is pretty good and it is easy to change the metering rods for tuning for the street. I will probably do this swap again.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7