Team Chevelle banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
777 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1970 Chevelle with a 307/2bbl and a 2pd powerglide. Motor is completely stock with 70K on it. I would like to convert it to a 4bbl setup. I have gotten many opinions around here and many are contradictory. I would like some "expert" advice from some chevelle nuts. I am considering an Edelbrock 600cfm carm with an Edelbrock Performer intake. Any opinions? Thanks in advance for the help!

Fred

·
Premium Member
217 Posts
I'm far from an expert, but here's my $.20 worth....My personal preferences for your 307 would be a Holley 600 cfm or Carter/Edelbrock 625 cfm (Summit lists the Carter as 600 on manual choke & 625 on electric choke). I lean a little more toward the Carter for a smooth, non-leak streetable application out of the box & day in-day out(Note:Edelbrock carbs are basically the same as the Carter). Both the Holley & Carter are vacuum secondaries so they should work good with the "glide"(kick-down, etc.). I also prefer a dual plane manifold like the Performer RPM (for square bore carbs I suggest)or a Weiand Stealth. These provide good low-end & mid-range power vs. a single plane "dump" manifold committed to high RPM. Holley also has a 450 cfm carb that would work sweet on the 307, but it's kinda pricey compared to the other carbs I mentioned. You might consider contacting Holley &/or Carter (Federal Mogul owns Carter)for their recommendations on your specific setup. Fire back with what you end up with & how it works. Good Luck.

·
Premium Member
1,626 Posts
Riffers-