Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part May's Ride of the Month Challenge!

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4,766 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Son of a b*&^%!!! I broke # 4 spark plug clean off in my '91 4.3L Jimmy
I'm sorry this isn't a Chevelle question - but I need the experts on this. Beyond the obvious problem, I am also on a tight budget right now.

The hex part of the plug broke off leaving the threads of the plug in the head. The white part of the plug came out of the plug base - complete to the electrode, leaving a hollow/empty plug base, broken off flush with the head.
Is an 'EZ out' screw extractor the answer?? Is there a certain type of extractor I should get? I have never done this before, Any other tips or suggestions???

I hope that head removal is not the answer, but be honest with me...
Thanks in advance for any information or support.
Ron "not running on all cylinders" Cook

------------------
Bow_Tied
1969 300 Deluxe HTSS396/ 1971 Malibu 2DR HT
"Never let fear and good judgement hold you back."
TC Member#1276 [email protected]

·
Registered
7,762 Posts
Yeah, I'd try an EZ-Out. Should work. I'm kind of guessing on the size. Maybe around a number 6 but I don't know the inner diameter of a spark plug. Make sure its "nose" does not hit the piston. Afterwards, I'd slowly bring the piston to the top and suck anything out of there.

·
Registered
89 Posts