Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
831 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Supposedly a 177 will make 650hp on a 454-496. Do you think a 250 will make 800-850hp on an AFR headed 454? I don't see much info on 250 and 256 blowers. I noticed Blower Shop makes a nice setup for $3k.

Thanks for any info or experiences!

·
Premium Member
7,046 Posts
I've been studying blown engines for a planned upcoming build so I'm no expert. But from what I surmise you would want a minimum of 671 for a big cubic inch engine. Yes you can overdrive a smaller blower to get the needed boost but the faster you run it the more heat it builds. From what I gather, it's preferable to underdrive your blower.

·
Registered
831 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. I was hoping to get by with a single 1250 Dominator on a 250 and get a decent boost but it doesn't sound like it. I don't see much info on the 250/256 blowers, I guess that should tell me something!!

·
Registered
373 Posts
First thing to consider in thinking about building a blower motor is how much power do you want to make, and what RPM range you want to make that power.

The small blowers were developed primarily for the smaller street motor that never saw a lot of RPM. High RPM requires far more air than these small blowers can pump without over reving the blower creating more intake air heating.

If you are looking at a street motor simply to impress yourself from idle to 4000 then go for it. You will be pleasantly surprised at the increase over a NA motor.

If looking to turn up the RPM there is no replacement for displacement. And this also applies to blower sizing.