Team Chevelle banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just beginning my research as to which "stuff" to use for my rear end. I am not knowlegable on this subject. What I do know is that I want it to hold up, I would like posi traction,I stand on the gas a lot and drive on the highway, and I've saved $1150.00. The car is a 69 Chevelle with the original rear end, 383 making 520hp, and a 700r4 trans. What I do not know, which is a lot by the way, is what will be the right/best "stuff" to buy and install. I say "stuff" because I do not know what is what. When people say, ring, pinion, gear, center section, bearing and so on I don't know what they mean. I will start researching these things but knew I should come here as well. Any suggestions/advise is greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Brian

·
Registered
978 Posts

·
Banned
1,435 Posts
Brian,
Assuming you've got a 10 bolt, I would recommend either a complete 12-bolt or an S-60 from Strange.
Currie enterprises has complete 12 bolts for $1k, Strange has complete S-60's for $1900.
You'd be okay with a modified 10-bolt, but if you're not worried about originality I'd definitely go with a 12-bolt or S-60.
Mike

·
Registered
978 Posts
You let me know where I can find a Currie enterprises complete 12 bolts for $1k and I'll get two. I've did alot of research. I can't find one Complete for under $1700. Most Currie Complete rears I've seen are 9 inches.
Seriously,, let me know..

·
Premium Member
1,520 Posts
i'd recommend searching the classifieds. get one built by someone who knows how. they also know what parts are best to use. tom

·
Registered
9,796 Posts