Team Chevelle banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
504 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The timing chain was fairly worn, is this was caused the damage to the block and timing chain cover or is there some adjustment to be made? I am replacing the cam and timing set but I don't think the damage is a problem. The gear on the crack was VERY tight and I had a slow hard time gwetting it off, isn't this gear suppose to be free on the crank?

http://www.hopeandcompany.com/webcam/4166.jpg

http://www.hopeandcompany.com/webcam/4169.jpg

Also, the cam appears to be OK but look at that first cam bearing. It is a little rough on the right side there. Is all the force on the left side of the bearing? Do I need to replace it? If so how do I replace it, I have never done this before.

http://www.hopeandcompany.com/webcam/4168.jpg

Please give me your quick response as I hope to start on this later today or tomorrow.

Thanks guys!

·
Premium Member
2,719 Posts
There is no adjustment on the gears or chain tension, if it was really loose, it was just plain worn out. The crank gear is supposed to be really tight, it's pressed or driven on...there is no play. I'll leave the bearing questions to the pro's, but I dont believe replacing cam bearings is a job you want to tackle yourself...and if you need one, you need them all.

·
In Memoriam
66 El Camino 57 Chevy pickup 2004 Tahoe
29,419 Posts
your cam bearing is normal, don't sweat it. the dark area between 5 and 7 o'clock is the worn area, the sides have never been touched.

I don't know how the inside of the cover got damaged, it looks like the bolt heads were hitting it. was there anything bolted to the front of the cam with the three bolts? The cover may have been just pushed in. hold it up and sight across front, it shouldn't be dished in.

The front of the block is normal.

That lower gear is tight, usually needs a puller of some type to get it off.