Chevelles.com banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I am new to the classic car world, I just bought a 66 el camino, lots of work to be done but has great bones. I was wondering if anyone could help out a young buck/newbie. My power steering pump is leaking and I am trying to decide if I rebuild, buy a new oem part, or buy a remanufactured part? Cheers!

·
Registered
25 Posts
Welcome to Team Chevelle! I am under the impression that rebuilts are a crap shoot! If it is not leaking bad, I would certainly try some Lucas Power steering stop leak. I have had a few cars benefit from Lucas over the years, it's a cheap band-aid that usually gets results. If it is really shot- try a local parts store. Napa seems to have better quality than say Autozone- in my opinion. And congrats on the ELCO!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome to Team Chevelle! I am under the impression that rebuilts are a crap shoot! If it is not leaking bad, I would certainly try some Lucas Power steering stop leak. I have had a few cars benefit from Lucas over the years, it's a cheap band-aid that usually gets results. If it is really shot- try a local parts store. Napa seems to have better quality than say Autozone- in my opinion. And congrats on the ELCO!
Thanks!! its leaking pretty bad, Im thinking of putting new seals in it, but I also might as well just buy a new one while its off.

·
Premium Member
6,298 Posts
there are some good rebuilt units and some low quality one's. OPG original parts group used to sell a good remanufactured unit but it cost more then NAPA or other parts store one's.

·
Registered
5,633 Posts
If you can get one from NAPA then do it
usually Life Time Guarantee of Replacement !

·
Premium Member
Bill
1,250 Posts