Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
66 Chevelle SS396 & 66 Chevelle 327 Convertible.
7,106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me first say I have never done anything like this before. I am trying to replace the upper trunk crossmember. I have to remove the spot welds that hold the upper front crossmember brace to the trunk floor and also to the flange that extends from the rear floor of the car. The also are spot welds from the inner wheel house to the end of the crossmember. ( 66 chevelle).

I started on a trial piece and burned though the cutter in removing 4 spots. Not having done this before I did not use any cutting oil, my mistake.

Looks like there are about 10 welds at the front and rear of the crossmember. Is it best to remove these from above? Looks as if my only choice for the spots on the inner wheel house is from the wheel house to the crossmember. I think I will have to patch this area of the wheel house as there are rust holes on both sides. Looks to be about 4 welds on each side.

One I remove all the spot welds holding the trunk floor and wheel housing to the crossmember, there will be spot welds holding the front flange of the crossmember to the flange extending from the rear floor. Do I Just continue to drill though the crossmember to the flange; but how do I locate the spots holding the floor flange to the crossmember, is it just one big spot weld though all 3 pieces. Thanks for your help

·
Registered
1969 Chevelle 2 Door Sport Coupe Malibu COPO clone
5,678 Posts