Team Chevelle banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Premium Member
1,085 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not the stuff out of a box, the good old fashioned, made from scatch sort?
After years of wondering if I could do it I am going to experiment next weekend. Any input?

· Premium Member
22,931 Posts
I think the better question here is...
Anybody here eat cheesecake? :thumbsup:
I had a buddy that's moved off to VA that used to make a killer cheesecake...and was a chemist by trade. Only did it though at Xmas time. :(

· Registered
112 Posts
I have a buddy that makes cheesecakes. He's a bit of a goofball.
I must say, his oreo cheesecake is the most amazing thing i have ever tasted.
Go for the kill and make the oreo cheesecake.

· Premium Member
5,595 Posts
My brother-in-law makes them and sells them to restaraunts down in Austin, TX. I'll try to get in touch with him, see if he has a secret recipe to share. FWIW, the wife made up one of those Oreo cheesecakes last year. Mmmm, mmm, mmm, that was tasty. :thumbsup:

Unfortunately, these holiday times are probably going to get the best of my diet, no matter how hard I try. It was sad that I had to walk away from that gallon of eggnog today at Sam's Club. 220 calories x 32 servings, nevermind the fact that I could finish that thing off in about 2 days, just couldn't do it. :sad: Then I come home, and there's a large box of pastries from the father-in-law. He works in food service at the Hilton, guess they had some leftovers. :) Those custard filled donuts were extra heavy, they definitely were meant to please. :D Arrrgh! Ratchafratchin' diets. :rolleyes: :D

Edit: Did you check Food TV?

· Registered
914 Posts
My wife was supposed to make a sweet potato cheesecake for Thanksgiving but got sick so I had to do it. If I say so myself it was the best cheesecake I ever ate. Actually you use yams, not sweet potatoes, same as for pie. Not being from the south I never understood that. Here's the recipe:

CRUST: