Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anybody ever heard of or seen an LS6 Chevelle with aluminum heads?Many books list this option and give the engine suffix code of CRS.Apparently these aluminum heads were only available with an automatic transmission.I seen such a car for sale in Tarpon Springs Florida at a classic chevy place.The car was a bench seat column shift car with no options.It was forest green.The buld sheet and protecto plate looked fake,but I am no expert.I also heard some people say they never made such a car and that car is a complete bogas car with made up documents.The car did sell to a man in Missisippi or Alabama for BIG $$$$$$.I always was curious to such a car.Does anyone know about this rarely talked about option?Some books list it others dont.I now about the rare L89 396/375 70 Chevelle that records say 18 were built but no such records on the CRS 454 /450 aluminum head motor.What a mystery!!

·
Premium Member
8,074 Posts
It sounds fishy. I've heard 18 as the figure of '70 L89s, but as for the LS6 with aluminum heads... Actually, in '71 I've heard that aluminum heads were available on the LS6 in the Corvettes. That's not to say Chevy couldn't have done it in '70 on LS6 Chevelles. I have heard that Chevy planned on releasing an LS6 or even LS7 in the Nova, or some tri-power version of them in the Camaro. It did not happen, although I bet that the engine codes were already assigned.

·
Registered
225 Posts
I saw an article in a magazine a couple of years ago about a '70 LS6 convertable chevelle that had aluminum heads. They even showed a picture of the build sheet to prove it.

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I think I might have seen that magazine as well.I believe it was "Muscle Cars"

·
Registered
1,525 Posts