Team Chevelle banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so here is the deal. I am new to this great site and i recently bought a 71 chevelle.... it says ss and the guy said it was a ss.... but i have no plates.... but... i do have the title... how can i check the numbers on the title to my only identification on the car which is the little tag thing near the drivers side hood hinge... are there any other ways to check?? my numebrs are...

st 71-13637 R60102 BDY
tr 731 42 42 pnt
07b012

help me please

·
Premium Member
15,332 Posts
Go talk to your DMV. If you have a clear title and the VIN matches the hidden VIN on the car (Usually this is done by a DMV agent or law enforcement) They more than likely will tag the car with a state issue VIN plate at that point (typically it would be the VIN stamped on a state tag and riveted to the car.

Pretty much anything else you try is against some federal or state law.

A couple of the spots where the hidden VIN is stamped on the body is under the heater blower motor and on the frame behind the rear driver side wheel well. Both may take some work to be able to read them.

·
Premium Member
7,984 Posts
Welcome T.O. Something sounds a little fishy. You say there is no vin plate on the dash?
The trim tag decodes as
1971, 13637-malibu,2-DOOR SPORT COUPE, R-built in Arlington, TX,
tr 731-Ant. Dk. Jade Elk Coated Fabric, Ant. Dk. Jade Coated Fabric (bench seat)
42 42-Cottonwood Green (upper and lower)
07b- build date of july second week.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks guys... keep the suggestions coming. I love forums and the ppl in them. haha... but im going to check all of this out. can you tell if my 71 is a real ss by the numbers i gave yall? thanx again

·
Registered
862 Posts