Chevelles.com banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All,

I'm considering rewiring my chevelle, and I was looking at the painless wiring and M&H.

I did a search on it and I'm in a toss between the two! I was wondering who has done which one and what they thought about it. Was it, well.. Painless or would you have gone with another?

I'm pretty new to rewiring things, I did redo the back light harness on my own, but that was pretty simple..

Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated!

·
Premium Member
27,718 Posts
I used M&H when replacing the engine and front light harnesses in my '70 last spring.

A word of advice...order ahead. At one point, there was about a 6 week wait on M&H harnesses.

·
Registered
443 Posts
I used M & H for my Camaro and would strongly recommend them. (there's a recent thread in the "el Camino" section on this forum) I've known a few people, who've used Painless' harnesses in their custom street rods and race cars, who were happy with the generic, build it to your needs harnesses. No doubt good quality.

But if you're rewiring/restoring a factory/production car, then M & H will get it back to like it was with ZERO hassle. The harnesses use all the factory colors, lengths, connectors, and attachment points. You'd be able to use a factory wiring schematic or follow things through from your assembly manual so no "Custom guesswork or excuses" for anyone who might be working on your car down the road, so to speak. I don't know if Painless builds harnesses like the factory did. Like I said, Painless makes good stuff, but for my purposes I'd go with M & H.

SKIP

·
Registered
584 Posts
I've done both (Painless with a '71 Nova and M&H with my '70 Chevelle). The M&H is WELL worth the price and wait. IT makes everything faster and simpler. It looks better too in my opinion. They use high quality wire and back it up with great service. My vote is for M&H!

·
Premium Member
13,563 Posts