Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been restoring my 68 SS for 20+ yrs. When I bought this car it had after market sport buckets in it. I found some 67 seats in a shed and spent the time and $$ to bring them back to life. When I removed the seats that the car came with the only Holes and or mounting are along the doors, one threaded hole in the front and 2 threaded holes in the rear where the seats bolt up. Next to the tunnel there is nothing... Should I just buy a set of those strap prefab mounts with the premounted studs and weld it in or is there a better option that would take my car back a little closer to the way it should be? Any opinions would be a big help. Thanks

·
Premium Member
7,786 Posts
This is the kit you want to properly install them... should have 4pcs total. One big & one small for each seat.

https://www.summitracing.com/parts/amd-407-3466-s

You locate the seat using the inside rear hole in the floor with the outter rear hole in the seat track. This locates the seat inward enough to miss the seatbolt retractor.

If you put both seats in with the one rear position bolted on each side, you can square them up to each other... mark the floor where the brackets go, remove seats and weld the brackets in. Real straight forward.

·
Premium Member
7,786 Posts

The small brackets go under the front/outboard seat track feet.
It winds up being ~1/2" farther forward, and ~1/2"-1" farther in than the front hole in the floor (for the bench seat track).

There is a sticky thread in the interior forum here (thats where i got this pic) but its old, many many pages long, a lot of the photos and links don't work any more and there is some mis-information mixed in. That, along with drawings with different reference points to measure off of... its easy to get confused about the right way to do it.