Team Chevelle banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
616 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 454 but have no idea what vehicle it came out of. Do all 454 use the same oil pump screen? I went to Auto Zone and they sell a Melling Part #77-S2. Is this the correct screen for a 454?

:beers:

·
Registered
5,466 Posts
I have a 454 but have no idea what vehicle it came out of. Do all 454 use the same oil pump screen? I went to Auto Zone and they sell a Melling Part #77-S2. Is this the correct screen for a 454?

:beers:
No not a chance! It all depends on the pan.

Here we go again..."I have a Melling P/N .....with a Melling P/N ......and a Morosso P/N........" "When I rev the engine the oil pressure goes down..could I be pumping the oil pan dry?"

Make absolutly sure you get the right pickup for your pan. If not you will be another one who posts the quotations that I listed up above.

·
Registered
616 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well, since I'm new to all this and learning as I go. How do I know I'm getting the correct one with the pan I'm using? The pan I have is a stock pan. Nothing special about it.

·
Registered
5,466 Posts
well, since I'm new to all this and learning as I go. How do I know I'm getting the correct one with the pan I'm using? The pan I have is a stock pan. Nothing special about it.
You gotta know the P/N of the pan. I am afraid it is as simple as that and at the same time as complicated as that. The interiors of the pans are different and the pickups are designed to work in conjunction with the baffels that are inside the pan. There is something special about the pan you have. What is special is that it is not any other pan. Sometimes the pickups are shared between pans but in some cases the pickup is unique to the pan.