Team Chevelle banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 70 Chevelle, 350 2 barrel. I have obtained the 4 barrel and intake that comes with this same engine. I am a novice when it comes to carbs. Just wondering what I have to do to install the new intake and carb. The carb is already attached to the intake. An easy job for a beginner? Any tips? Thanks much!!

·
Registered
777 Posts
DSMITH,
I just converted from 2bbl to 4bbl with my 307/'glide. It's not a hard task, you just need to take your time and pay attention to details. I know that with my Edelbrock intake, it specifies that I couldn't use Fel-Pro Permatorque intake gaskets, I had to use Fel-Pro Printoseal intake gaskets. Be sure that when you install the gaskets that they do not move or shift, and move the intake directly above the valley and lay the intake straight down. Do not slide it in or set it down coming in from an angle. This could cause the gaskets to move. The torque specs for my aluminum intake called for 25ft-lbs. When torquing the bolts use the specified sequence, and do them at three torque increments up to 25. Like say do them all at 15ft-lbs, then at 20ft-lbs then at 25ft-lbs. Each time following the torque sequence for the bolts. For bolts that the torque wrench just won't let you do it, use a wrench and get a feel of the other properly torqued bolts and how tight they are. Use this "feel" and do the other bolts. You will need the following gaskets: Intake gasket set(intake/valley/distributor), valve cover gaskets(yes, you have to remove the valve covers to remove/install the intake). I used a little permatex on the corners where the valley gaskets met the intake gaskets, just to be sure.