Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part May's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1967 chevelle
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, this is my first time posting on this site, so i hope i put this in the right spot. I'm currently rebuilding a 67 chevelle that came with a 350 that apparently ran. Eventually, im planning of doing a LS swap but to keep the budget lower, i want to run the 350 for a couple of years. I did a compression test on all cylinders and i am getting 170 psi on all of them. So i opened it up to inspect pistons/cylinder walls and was going to put new seals/gaskets. Everything looks fine exept for my #3 wall which has a bunch of small scores that run almost the whole lenght of the cyl. My nail catches on a bunch of those marks near the top. Since it has good compression, would it be worth replacing all gaskets and putting this back together, since i dont want to invest much in this engine? Thanks for reading.
20210226_171747.jpg

·
Registered
65 Posts
If your just going to put it back together and run it for a few years ball hone it, rings, bearings, oil pump, and maybe a valve job and send it! Or just find a 5.3 locally and start earlier then you originally plan. After all it seems nothing goes as planned when it comes to old cars!

·
Registered
522 Posts
Since you don't want to invest much, if you haven't got the pstons out of the bores yet and the compression test was good, then go with it.
Don't hone and re-ring, just leave it. It obviously had something gritty get in there for a short period of time and score things up, but it was a long time ago, it has run 10, 000+ miles or more just like it is,,,,that damage wasn't critical, just a percentage loss.