Chevelles.com banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I am new to classic car care and have a 67 velle with 20 year old paint. I would say that it is a good 15 footer at best. I don’t have new paint job anywhere in my plans or budget. I wold like some guidance on what products to use for washing and waxing this car to keep it a good 15 footer for as long as possible. Side note——— I honestly have no clue about waxing a car and have no equipment for the job. Any recommendations are greatly appreciated.———

·
Registered
355 Posts
Is this a mostly garaged car? Something like Optimum No Rinse Wash and Shine would be great for a car that only gets dust and bugs. Use the rinseless wash mixture when it's dirty, and mix some up into quick detailer for removing light dust.
https://optimumcarcare.com/product/optimum-no-rinse-wash-shine1

Just about any carnauba wax or sealer will work for protecting your paint. Also Check the paint when it's clean with a plastic bag on your hand, if it doesn't feel smooth and easily glide you may want to look into hitting the car with a clay bar.

Is the paint single stage (rather than basecoat/clearcoat) and fading?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes this car will always be garaged. As for the paint I have no idea if it’s single stage or not. Does not appear to be fading at all. I will have to ask someone what kind of paint job it is. Thanks for the reply and I will look for that optimum no rinse wash and shine.

·
Registered
254 Posts