Team Chevelle banner

1970 Chevelle L78 / Build information by VIN

228 Views 6 Replies 2 Participants Last post by  Big "G"
I'm new to the forum and this is my first attempt to find out if anybody knows how to determine by VIN the actual position of the build within the build year?
For example, I have recently acquired a 70 Chevelle SS 396 / 375HP L78 4-speed car and have the build sheet for the car. It is my understanding from my research to date, that this particular year and model was no longer built after sometime in early December of 1969. My car was built 12/69 and I would like to know if possible, how many L78's were built after mine? The car was built at the Van Nuys plant. It has to be one of the last built before production stopped, just want to know how close to the last one...
Anyone know if this information is attainable and if so, how?
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
1970 Chevelle SS 396 / L78 4-Speed
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
What is the date code on your cowl tag? 12? And what is the last part of your vin (sequence)?
What is the date code on your cowl tag? 12? And what is the last part of your vin (sequence)?
Thanks for the website you recommended, I just finished my research on it and found my car has been listed on it by a previous owner, how cool. It is the very one you mentioned in one of your posts with VIN 1515xx and was dated 12/2. It also appears to be the last one build that is listed on the website from all plants. However I'm going to assume that doesn't necessarily mean it is the last 70 L78 built period.
Just wondering if there is a way to find out if it truly is the last one off the line and if so, can this be documented?

· Premium Member
1,664 Posts