New Guy with 72 Chevelle Rust bucket - Chevelle Tech
New Member Introductions Stop in and introduce yourself.

2Likes
  • 1 Post By TheBoatWhisperer
  • 1 Post By TheBoatWhisperer

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Oct 12th, 19, 8:31 PM Thread Starter

New Guy with 72 Chevelle Rust bucket

Hey TC,
I just started working on my 72 Chevelle Malibu. It's a rust bucket. 47 years of paint and bondo. Patches riveted on. I dont think it has been on the road in 15 years. I intend to bring it back to life but by no means going for a show car.
I am an aircraft mechanic by education and a marine fabricator by choice. I do gelcoat and fiberglass repair as well as complete restoration and modification for a living.
I understand that I will have more money and labor into this car than I could ever get out. I have my wife's blessing to make it fast and loud. This is not her first fast car but it is mine.
I live in South Texas and today we had the first cold front of the season. So, I got to hacking the trunk floor out. Man, spot welds suck!!!
I see many high quality cars on here. I may be in the running for most ugly. I have a 454 I pulled out of an RV with 2000miles. It's a crate motor from early 2000's. Turbo400 transmission. I have 049 cast iron heads that I will be getting tuned up. I prefer Holley over Rochester.
After I replace the trunk and floor I will mainly focused on drivetrain, brakes suspension, and engine. My thought is to find a nice vehicle to swap all my quality parts. The previous owner ripped it all apart 10 years ago. I have parts in boxes. I'm going to get those 2" drop spindles. I might just do sheet metal dash. Nothing fancy. Primer black. Fast and rude.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Bart_Swisher likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Oct 12th, 19, 8:41 PM
Lifetime Premium Member
Al

Garage
Re: New Guy with 72 Chevelle Rust bucket