Team Chevelle banner

Roadster shop spec series chassis.

11K views 14 replies 9 participants last post by  fastlane666 
#1 ·
Hey guys, it’s been a while since I’ve been in here, I’m also a member of the team FB page. Anyways, I’ve been tinkering with my 66 300 since roughly 1987 when I was 14 and paid 200 bucks for it. My current setup is like this. Lunati 408 SBC with the edelbrock performer RPM top end and lunati cam. Tremec TKO 600. JGC steering box, SSBC brakes, umi suspension upgrades as well as a 3:55 12 bolt posi. I’ve been running the 408 since 1995 when hot rod magazine ran the same engine in the crusher Camaro. I’ve acquired everything to finally upgrade to a LS1, I have a pro charger D1SC kit, fast computer, injectors rails Holley sheet metal intake and throttle body. Etc, I’ve spent some money here. The original chassis in my car has been bent and repaired, I’ve fought with the drive line angle issue, I’ve cracked the rear suspension crossmember drag racing on drag radials and fixed it and gusseted the cracks.
Ok here’s what I’m trying to get to, The Roadster Shop spec chassis, a well equipped chassis can be bought for roughly 15k from Summit with free shipping. It’s purpose built, the driveline angles are correct, and since I’m running about 650-700 horsepower I see it as a no brainer. Who else has done the chassis upgrade? What hiccups did you hit, the spec chassis is advertised as bolt in.

Reactions: 70CHEVELLE396
#2 ·
I don't have personal experience with them, but I would almost guarantee it's not a simple swap. I would go into it assuming that it will be at least another 7-10 thousand to finish the setup the way you want. They look awesome, but are definitely a bit out of my price range right now.

You might have better luck finding someone who uses them on the Pro-touring forums. That is a modification that is a bit more their speed. Good luck!

Sent from my Phone using Tapatalk

#3 ·