radio repair for dummies?? - Chevelle Tech
Chevelle Tech General Tech Area
Please try and post in specific forums

7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old Jan 15th, 05, 1:06 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team

My '67 AM radio doesn't work. The light comes on and the dial and buttons work. But there is no sound. I've tried several different speakers.

I'm told the problem often is a blown transistor. Is elementary radio diagnosis and repair - finding the problem and replacing a transistor or something like that - something that a novice at radio repair can do?

Where would I find simple instructions on how to diagnose and fix the problem??
Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old Jan 15th, 05, 1:30 PM
Lifetime Premium Member
Greg

Garage
northern,

I've a rudimentary knowledge of transistorized and solid state circuits (my degree is in electrical engineering) and based on my experience, I'd say "no." I'd look for a local radio repair shop with a "good old boy" who used to work on these radios (that's what I did with my '68 AM/FM) or a national shop that does this kind of work. Good luck with this.

Greg

My 68
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and my 68
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. In 1968 I got my
66 Chevelle SS. 30 years later, I got my
. Both Chevelles are in the same location.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old Jan 15th, 05, 10:14 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Yes, it would be nice to find someone who would not charge more than the radio is worth for looking at it.
One person suggested tapping the power transistor that they say sits on a heat sink on the outside of the radio case. Apparently that sometimes results in a temporary fix??

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old Jan 17th, 05, 12:50 PM
Tech Team
Fred

Northern396,