I'm a noob with a 70 chevelle SS - Chevelle Tech
Chevelle Tech General Tech Area
Please try and post in specific forums

14Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old Mar 28th, 20, 6:52 PM Thread Starter

I'm a noob with a 70 chevelle SS

As the title states, I am a muscle car noob that has acquired a 1970 chevelle with a 396 BBC from my grandpa, and I really don't know where to start. The motor has been pulled and went over once, and is now back in. I basically just want to get it running at the moment and take care of everything else later. I have parts like the carb, hei, headers, valve covers, and a couple other things, but the rest I will buy as needed.

I guess my question is, what the hell do I start with? I have no clue where I should start working and I guess I am just looking for some advice on where to start and where to go. anything will help, thanks!

I can't get images to post, so here is the imgur link [https://imgur.com/a/pVYvZ5z?third_party=1#_=_]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old Mar 28th, 20, 7:02 PM
Tech Team
Rame

Garage
Re: I'm a noob with a 70 chevelle SS

You should start on the brakes and work from there
davidaugust likes this.

post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old Mar 28th, 20, 7:08 PM
Tech Team
Rick

Hello,

Is Grandpa still around? He might be your best bet at getting it put back together and running. You are going to need many skills here - electrical, fuel and mechanical. You will need tools and a multimeter.

We can certainly help you here but it is tough from afar over the Internet. If I were you and Grandpa was not available, I would join a local car club and get to know a few of the gear heads therein. Hopefully, its a club full of hot rodders that crave challenges like this. You provide the money, parts, beer, food and a firm willingness to learn and somebody in that club will answer the call.