Team Chevelle banner

High Torque Mini Starter

8K views 38 replies 19 participants last post by  DwadeCham 
#1 ·
Trying to find the right starter. So much information out there I like to get it from people with my car and experience.

I have a 68 Malibu. Recently had the engine rebuilt. It is a 327 block but they put a 350 crank in it. Has a cam. Not sure what as I type this. Looking to install a high torque mini starter and then the engine builder wants to advance my timing a little. I am just looking for guidance and trying to get some opinions on what is out there and what people have experience with.

Thanks!
Wade

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#3 ·
Reactions: DwadeCham
#4 ·
I got a Powermaster starter for my chevelle. After dealing with their customer service I would not go with anyone else. I had a few issues with getting my car to start properly and they spent hours working with me tracking down wiring issues, sending me new starters and just great customer service. It took a couple of weeks, but we got all of my issues worked out and I could not be happier. It starts my car on the first crank almost every time.

#6 ·
I am confused about what will work with my engine. It is not original. It is a 327 from ‘69 I had rebuilt. They put a 350 crank in it. So will almost any small block starter work? Sometimes on Summit when I put in all my info it says something won’t fit.

#7 ·
There are different flywheels.
The 168 and 153 tooth are the most common ones.
I don't believe they are interchangeable.
You need to determine which one you have.
And yes I have had very good luck with longevity,knock on wood,:thumbsup:
Guy

#8 ·
PMGR starters may as well be magic. They have a 7:1 inline gear reduction that allows them to spin up very easily.