• 1 Post By Skier_Bob
  • 3 Post By Lew540
  • 1 Post By hydro462
  • 1 Post By Alan F

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old May 22nd, 20, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Pete

Question about selecting gear ratio

I am thinking about getting a 12 bolt to replace the 8.2" 10 bolt I have in my 68. Currently a 3.08 open diff.

I have a mild 396 with a TH400 with 26" wheel diameter and the car is slow from a stop. I have some money but no experience on doing an engine build but a rear end swap looks like something I can do quickly so I can still enjoy the car this summer.

I was thinking of purchasing a complete rear end and thinking about what gear ratio to select. I have seen all the comments on not putting short gears in cars due to noise and high RPM on the highway. Well I live in the country and have only taken the car on the highway once. I just want something fun to drive around back roads and is quick but not fast. Again not worried at what RPM I will cruise at going 65 MPH since I rarely go anywhere with a speed limit above 45. Just want something that will be fun from a dead stop.

I was thinking at least 3.73 or maybe 4.10 with a posi would be a good choice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old May 22nd, 20, 12:03 PM
Gold Founding Member

Garage
Re: Question about selecting gear ratio

Based upon your intended use a 3.73:1 would be fun. 3.31 would be practical but not enough difference from 3.08 to notice. Iíd stay away from a 4.10 if you do any distance at a fixed highway speed.
blm, pannetron, Kirk's67SS and 2 others like this.

I donít like being manipulated!
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old May 22nd, 20, 12:40 PM
Senior Tech Team

Send a message via AIM to Jim Mac

I've got 3.55 in my 66, 3.31 in the 70. either gears are great around town gears. jim
Kirk's67SS likes this.

Jim

70 chevelle, SS clone 454 4 speed
71 camaro. (owned since 1978!) 6-71 blown small block 400