Differential and Transmission upgrade - Chevelle Tech
Transmission & Driveline Transmissions and Differentials

28Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 56 (permalink) Old Jul 22nd, 19, 3:40 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team

I have a 64 El Camino 283 engine, power glide transmission, with what I believe is the original 10 bolt 8” rear end and I believe it has a 2.56 gear ratio, GM1, #3839390N.

I’m thinking of upgrading to 3.42 or 3.54 gear ratio and upgrading to a 700 or 200-4R transmission in the near future. The plan is to make it a daily driver on street/highway and drop in an LS1 engine at a later date.
I have 17 inch wheels, 245-45-17 I believe.

I’m a noob but I plan to upgrade the gears myself. What’s a good upgrade kit?
Would this combination be ok for now with the 283?
Would the jump from 2.56 to 3.54 be hard on the 283 with power glide?
I’ve read the 200-4R is an easier install then the 700R4.
Any corrections, suggestions or advice?

Last edited by jelco; Jul 22nd, 19 at 3:55 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 56 (permalink) Old Jul 22nd, 19, 3:57 PM
Senior Tech Team
Freddie

Re: Differential and Transmission upgrade

Your '64 will have the 8.2 10 bolt. The gear ratios for that rear end would be 3.36 or 3.55. Swapping gears is not an easy job for a beginner. You need a few special tools and you need to be able to set the pinion depth, bearing preload and backlash to get the correct contact pattern. The '64 8.2 had slightly different splines on the axles than the later years, so when you swap the differential for a 3 series you will also need to upgrade the axles. You will have to swap the differential for this gear swap because you currently have a 2 series and you need a 3 series for the gear ratios that you are considering.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.