Heater resistor plug - Chevelle Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical problems.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old May 19th, 14, 1:38 PM Thread Starter
Team Member
Mike

Garage
Heater resistor plug

Hi Folks,
This is my first post, I have a 72 Sprint that I have been working on over the last 5 or 6 years,It sat for 14 years before I bought it.

I removed the sweep dash just after buying it to replace the heater core, never reinstalled it due to starting the rust repairs and so on, mean while I picked up a Monte Carlo Dash, Yesterday I found time to install it, all went ok but apparently the wiring harness that came with it is from a non- a/c car, My Sprint has Factory air.

Everything else on the harness fell right into place.

My question is : the existing wiring harness has the T plug for a resistor for non air cars, Do I need to get a different wiring harness, modify this one, or is something I do not need to worry about?

Thanks, Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old May 19th, 14, 4:09 PM
Lifetime Premium Member
Bob

Re: Heater resistor plug

The 70-72 Chevelles with factory A/C have a STAND ALONE wiring harness. It enters the dash above the Dist. Also What ever under dash and under hood harness you are using.
You need the SAME YEAR - A/C harness. Whats the big deal !
I built a driver it is a 1971 Nomad Wagon with factory A/C. I installed a green 70 SS Dash, With the 70 under dash harnsee and a 70 under hood harness.
NOW I am driving the car and want to get the A/C working.. CLUE:
1971 Chevelles with Fac. A/C have relays under the glove box. 1970 Chevelles with Fac. A/C -DO NOT. Now I am having an OH SH!T Moment.
I enjoy working on A/C, I have done it for years. YES,,,, You can make anything work if you have the time money and knowhow.
Just to keep it all FACTORY and have all the wiring the same. I installed a 1970 A/C wiring harness.