Painless wiring and schematics - Chevelle Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical problems.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Jul 20th, 03, 3:43 AM Thread Starter

My friend and I have only just started and already we are having problems... We are working on the tail section, trying to read and understand both the original wiring diagram from one of my manuals and the painless manual... I own a 1968 Chevelle and purchased this wiring kit in hopes of putting all the extras like power windows and power door locks... This wiring project has not went well so far...we thought by sarting at the back and working our way forward would be the way to go....but the more we stare at it more it confuses us. My friend and I have no previous wiring experience so any help would be appricated... The first problem we have came across is the wiring of the single wire to light on each rear brake/turnsignal, the backup lights, and the license plate light... We are trying to use the old wiring harness as a guide, but just getting more confused... We believe one reason for much of the confusion is from the previous owners many splices, some of which have up to five different colors on one 2 foot section By the way the original wiring diagram goes.. it looks like a yellow and green and brown go to the headlight switch, but the way painless has it ...looks like the same wires goes to the turn signal switch HEEEEELLLLLPP lol
[img]graemlins/clonk.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Jul 20th, 03, 11:16 AM
Hey You!

Can't help you out with the Painless schematic. This is one reason I usually recomend using original style harnesses. Over the net it's easier.
Anyway.
Green and yellow originaly went to the turn signal switch. These are brake/turn signal wires. Painless doesn't provide switches so these should go to the same place.