Forget about driveline angles... - Chevelle Tech
2014 General Tech Forum from 2014

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 73 (permalink) Old Nov 26th, 14, 1:03 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech Team
Andrew

Forget about driveline angles...

As some of you might know, I have been running a CV driveshaft in my 1970 GTO for a few years now. The driveshaft that I have uses a CV joint at the slip yoke and a 1350 joint on the pinion yoke. This has worked very well for me, but there is always room for improvement. Since that time, The DriveShaft Shop has really expanded their line of products for this type of driveshaft.

Today I got a couple of beautiful driveline parts from The DriveShaft Shop. These will be going in a 1967 Cougar that I am working on, but they can just as easily be used in any car, Chevelles included.

Goodbye 100 years old u-joint technology and welcome to the 21st century...

First is this 27 spline slip yoke for my T56 transmission:

I do believe that a 32 spline version is also available that will work with TH400, etc...

It is set up to use one of their 100mm CV joints.

This beauty is a pinion flange for the 9" rear end. There are versions for the 12 bolt also available.

It is machined to accept one of their 108 mm CV joints.

Once I get everything installed I will measure for an aluminum driveshaft (with CV joints t both ends) to go in the middle. Concerns about driveline angles will be a thing of the past. The front and rear operating angles don't have to be equal and opposite anymore, as long as the operating angles don't exceed 9 degrees.

Andrew

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Instagram @projectgattago

"You were the gun, your voice was the trigger, your bravery was the barrel, your eyes were the bullets."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement