Rear left wheel locked up - Chevelle Tech
2014 General Tech Forum from 2014

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old Feb 23rd, 14, 5:01 PM Thread Starter
Mike

Rear left wheel locked up

Hi, my names mike, i just purchased a 1969 chevy chevelle malibu, im new to the whole mechanics thing and im working my way from the ground up and i was wondering if someone could give me some feedback. my chevelle has a left rear wheel that will not roll foward but will roll backward (when in neutral), i did some research and i suspect it could have something to do with the drum brake but i am not 100% sure. any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old Feb 23rd, 14, 5:14 PM
Tech Team
Mark

Re: Rear left wheel locked up

Check the brake or have someone check . It could be the brake linings have released from the shoe and jammed.
post #3 of 32 (permalink) Old Feb 23rd, 14, 5:19 PM Thread Starter
Mike

I'll take a look at it. much appreciated

post #4 of 32 (permalink) Old Feb 23rd, 14, 6:55 PM
Lifetime Premium Member
Verle

Brake shoes are retained by several parts.

There are heavy springs that pull the top of each shoe against the anchor pin, a large bolt at the top of the backing plate (after you remove the brake drum).

There is a pin that sorta look like nails with a funny looking point, that hold each brake shoe against the backing plate. The inside end of the pin has a small spring around it with a "keeper" to hold the spring on.

There is an adjuster at the bottom of the brake shoes, one end on each shoe, with a heavy spring hooked between the shoes across the top of the adjuster.

If any one of these are missing or broken it may cause your symptoms.

The below picture is the passenger side.

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i3...2/P1020008.jpg

Verle
Tulsa, Ok
65 Chevelle L79 since Feb 1965