The hits keep coming. Loud tick from the 454 - Chevelle Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old Jul 22nd, 16, 11:02 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Garage
The hits keep coming. Loud tick from the 454

Just got the new M20, bellhousing and exhaust installed this week and now this. I've noticed a tick from the engine for a bit but thought it was probably an exhaust leak. It doesn't get driven much so I let it be because the trans was the priority.

The new Pypes exhaust is quieter at idle than what was on it so this is much more pronounced. No idea what it is but I guess I'll pull the valve covers this weekend and see if there's anything glaring.

I'm new to older engines so if anyone can guide me in the right direction as where to start, I'd appreciate it.

The engine is a crate 454 that was supposedly rebuilt before we got the car. No idea how old it is because I can't see any numbers from the top.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old Jul 22nd, 16, 11:29 AM
Senior Tech Team
Bart

Garage
Re: The hits keep coming. Loud tick from the 454

I would pull the valve covers for sure and see what's going on.. but you say you just changed trans etc etc, I would be looking for possibly a loose bolt. Use a long screw driver or something as a stethoscope to find out where its coming from.
427L88 likes this.

There's nothing wrong with being stupid as long as you know you're stupid, it's when you're stupid and don't know it that you become dangerous.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old Jul 22nd, 16, 11:33 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Garage

It sounds like it's coming from the front of the motor to me.

post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old Jul 22nd, 16, 11:38 AM
Senior Tech Team
Vince

Exclamation Re: The hits keep coming. Loud tick from the 454

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bart_Swisher View Post