Upset beyond belief - Chevelle Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old Aug 15th, 19, 9:48 PM Thread Starter
Team Member
Steve

Upset beyond belief

I changed the o-ring on the th400 dipstick tube. While attempting to put the trans bolt back in that secures the tube, I fumbled the bolt down on top of the transmission case. I have been looking for that bolt for over an hour and have still not found it. I can't believe it. The garage floor is clean and the bolt is not there. The bolt washer managed to fall off and land on the floor. I have been working on cars for 40 years and have had this entire car apart. I have dropped many bolts over the years, but have never lost a bolt this big. Where might it be? Any ideas?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old Aug 15th, 19, 9:56 PM
Lifetime Premium Member
Randy

Re: Upset beyond belief

Crossmember.

Randy
TC # 5401
67 Project SS Clone

Owning a Chevelle project is like having a giant-size piggy bank that you keep pouring money into....but you can't get it back out.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old Aug 15th, 19, 10:01 PM
Lifetime Premium Member
Brian

Garage

Check to see if it is wedged between the transmission case the dipstick tube. If the transmission cooler lines are installed, check there, too. If you have headers, I would check on top of the collector area.

1971 Malibu, factory buckets/full gauges/console, 377 roller cammed small block, Turbo 400, 3.42 10 bolt posi (Buick), - All your base are belong to us.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Chevelle w/ open headers:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Chevelle w/ 2.5 pipes + X crossover/18 inch glass packs:

post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old Aug 16th, 19, 4:17 AM
Lifetime Premium Member
steve