Gm 12568778 502 engine oil pan - Chevelle Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

20Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old Aug 1st, 19, 5:36 PM Thread Starter
Mike

Gm 12568778 502 engine oil pan

Hello to all,

I'm new to the Chevelles so it's a learning curve. I currently have a 70 SS 396. I want to upgrade to the GM 125678778 crate engine, 502 ci, 460 hp, new block from GM. I saw on Summit Racing product description that the Gen V engines have the 6 quart pan and both the pan and oil pump will need to be modified/changed when dropping it into a Chevelle or Camaro. The current 396 engine seems to have a good bit of clearance between the oil pan in cross member but it's the 4+ quart pan. Has anyone done this and if so, have you had to change or modify the pan ?

Also, the engine description says the engine comes with the flex plate used for auto trannies. I'm putting in a Tremec 5 speed so the flex plate will be changed to a flywheel. I think the bolt mounting is the same for either flex plate or flywheel but thought I should find out prior to shelling out the money for the engine. Am I correct in assuming a flywheel will bolt up to the crank ?

Thanks to anyone who can provide some advice on this.

Mike
71350SS likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old Aug 1st, 19, 5:48 PM
Lifetime Premium Member
Jeff

Re: Gm 12568778 502 engine oil pan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melb-Mike View Post
Hello to all,