Hello from Quebec! - Chevelle Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old Jun 9th, 19, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
Team Member

Hello from Quebec!

Hi guys and girls! My name is Patrick , 46 Y/O i live in Quebec near Montreal, i am mostly french speaking so sorry in advance for the mistakes i can make while expressing myself in English.

Well after many years i finally got my dream car ( Chevelle 71 with a 454 ) I hope i can learn from you all as i am fairly new to this mechanic. Love the sound and power of my new baby, but yesterday i hurt her i think.

After a strong acceleration i heard a clacking noise. Now my cowl induction flap door is shaking at idle and i hear a ticking sound inside the engine. I don't know where to start to verify my problem. A bit of guidance would be appreciated. Also my temperature was a bit on the high side before (190 steady with both fans on ) and after the mishap the temperature dropped to 170.

Since a day or two my radiator was always pressurized ( even when the car sits for many hours ) when i open the radiator the fluid would gush out. Could it be a head gasket? I just don't know what to do or where to start. I hope i do not need a new engine rebuild, because the car cost me ``Mucho dineros`` to acquire and the engine was supposed to have been rebuilt 2 years ago.. About 500-550 HP is what i been told. Was running like a mad banshee until yesterday
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old Jun 9th, 19, 8:29 PM
Gold Member
Freddy

Re: Hello from Quebec!

Welcome to the site.

Freddy
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old Jun 9th, 19, 9:50 PM
Senior Tech Team
Claude

Re: Hello from Quebec!

"Patrick Noel", I sent you a "pm"

Claude.

1971 Chevelle SS
1987 Buick Grand National 9.48 @ 142 mph
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chevelle Tech forums, you must first register.