89 Silverado temp problems - Chevelle Tech
Misc (NON CHEVELLE AUTOMOTIVE TECH) This section is for the Non-Chevelle Related automotive questions/answers or discussion.

3Likes
  • 2 Post By modern malibu
  • 1 Post By 71350SS

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old Mar 9th, 20, 3:37 AM Thread Starter

89 Silverado temp problems

Hey guys I'm new at this so please bare with me hoping I'm posting this in the right place lol but anyways I have a 89 Silverado 350 was told it it's a 355 when I bought it. So summer time with oem Thermo it would run 210 no problem never above or under winter time it bounced from 210 to 230 when it's like 40 degrees or colder so I had enough of it replaced the water pump checked again same prob then radiator and cap same problem then replaced the thermo with oem recommended 195 I also did both coolant sensors and put aftermarket gauge did not solve my problem. So I put a 160 in it and now when it's 40 degrees or colder it runs about 190-200 my heat isn't as hot but still enough to cook ya. now it's like 60 degrees outside this time year and it stays right at 210-212 any ideas? As of right now I'm just driving it cause to me 210-212 is a healthy temperature. But I'm wondering if I have a underlying problem that's under my nose that I don't know about? Oil looks good not leaking coolant of course but I just don't wanna take it to a shop cause I don't know what else they can do that I haven't. I do know that 160 thermo doesnt allow coolant really to stay in the radiator to cool down but right now it's solving my problem so I'm leaving it in there for now. If it ain't broke don't fix it and if it's fixed don't try to fix it more lol but in this case it's a weird situation I can't get answers from anyone the fan is also good shape everything is in good working order I just wonder since now it's 60 degrees outside and the temp is at normal operating temps makes me really concerned what it's gonna do i