Alignment how to? - Chevelle Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions & more.

16Likes
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Unread Nov 11th, 19, 11:57 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Rame

Garage
Alignment how to?

I'm all about using local services but my local shop sucks....bad. Next closest place is over 40 miles away. Can someone give me a tutorial on alignment and the tools i would need? I know this sounds silly but I would rather buy the tools and do it myself. Any info would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Unread Nov 12th, 19, 12:16 AM
Lifetime Premium Member
Tom

Re: Alignment how to?

The tools aren't super expensive (relative) but knowing how to use them effectively can be the problem. I'm a former chassis tech and had a ton of experience with laser equipment so I had a better starting point than most. I bought a Tenhulzen setup for around $500 a few years ago and it's about paid for itself since. It's plenty accurate when used correctly.

Local shops that suck are exactly why I bought my own stuff, also. As far as where to start- it's caster, camber, toe, in that order. I can help guide you through it but I don't really have a tutorial handy. I have a diverse stable of junk and each one adjust differently but the order is always the same.
David Bates and sampoerna415 like this.

70 Camino...Roller

69 Malibu Stock 307, Reverse Manual TH350, 4,500 Stall Edge Converter, 4.56 Spool 35 Spline 12 Bolt

76 C20 VortecPro 496 628HP 655 lb/ft TH400 Edge Converter, 4.10 14 bolt
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Unread Nov 12th, 19, 12:18 AM
Senior Tech Team
Eric

First off you need an alignment gauge setup.
Longacre Alignment Tools
sampoerna415 likes this.

Your just jealous because you can't hear the voices!

1967 Olds Cutlass 468 BBC/T400
1963 Plymouth Fury 440/Torqueflite
2007 Ford Mustang GT (momma's car)

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Unread Nov 12th, 19, 9:50 AM