Power Steering Pump - Needs bleeding? - Chevelle Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions & more.

2Likes
  • 2 Post By Rickles

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old May 17th, 19, 3:54 PM Thread Starter
Lifetime Premium Member
Rick

Garage
Power Steering Pump - Needs bleeding?

'67 BB - Power Steering Pump MS100-03 (I think) and Serpentine System from Eddie Motorsports

I'm very unknowledgeable when it comes to power steering and PS pumps and what-not. I haven't had the car very long, and I'm still learning about it.

My power steering was working fine. It almost was too easy to steer. I made a sharp turn into my very short driveway the other day, turning the wheel all the way to the right to the lock position. The PS pump made a little "groaning" sound (as when a pump needs fluid) and the belt chirped for a second or two. When I drove it again today, the steering has a lot of resistance, not easy like it was, but makes no out-of-place noise.

The belt (the system has a tensioner pulley) is tight and the fluid is full in the reservoir. Does it need bleeding or something after being turned hard to the lock position? Again, there are no out-of-place noises from the pump or belt. Can someone point me in the right direction to look?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old May 18th, 19, 4:41 PM
Senior Tech Team
Jeff

Re: Power Steering Pump - Needs bleeding?

Jack the front wheels off the ground, remove the pitman arm and slowly turn the steering wheel side to side for a couple minutes without the engine running..

By the way, if this is a suggestion by an AGR tech to fix one of there boxes it isn't going to work. You need to replace the AGR box...
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old May 18th, 19, 5:42 PM Thread Starter
Lifetime Premium Member
Rick

Garage