Front Brakes / Suspension Upgrade - Chevelle Tech
Brakes, Suspension & Steering Conversion questions & more.

3Likes
  • 1 Post By yanniziomas
  • 2 Post By Tommy the Cat

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Oct 26th, 18, 11:08 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Lightbulb Front Brakes / Suspension Upgrade

I'm getting ready to upgrade my 65 with front disc brakes. I figured since I was going to do that, I am going to ahead and install front coil overs.

Does anyone have any advice or suggestions on other things I should probably go ahead and replace / rebuild since I'm going to have that stuff apart and out of the way? Everything looks close to original. I have never worked on brakes before but there is only one way to learn.

Any help would be appreciated. Trying to stay within budget so I know a complete front end upgrade with control arms etc would be nice but I am trying to locate those $40 or less parts that are only worth replacing if you have to or you are working in that area doing something else.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0221.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	70.2 KB
ID:	577440  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old Oct 26th, 18, 11:18 AM
Tech Team

Steering components would be a good idea, check for play etc. Same for bushings, ball joints.

I don’t know your plan and/or budget, but I would be spending $s elsewhere first than coil over shocks.
Clint44 likes this.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old Oct 26th, 18, 12:13 PM
Lifetime Premium Member
Tom

Re: Front Brakes / Suspension Upgrade

Agreed. Forget coilovers if you're on a budget. Coilovers have their place but the majority of builds are probably better off with regular springs and shocks.
Clint44 and -SS454- like this.

70 Camino...Roller

69 Malibu Stock 307, Reverse Manual TH350, 4,500 Stall Edge Converter, 4.56 Spool 35 Spline 12 Bolt

76 C20 VortecPro 496 628HP 655 lb/ft TH400 Edge Converter, 4.10 14 bolt